Bylaws Ratification

The vote to ratify the OpenJDK Community Bylaws started at 16:00 UTC on Tuesday, 14 June 2011 and ended at the same time two weeks later, on Tuesday 28 June 2011.


To approve the Bylaws required a Two-Thirds Majority of the Ratification Electorate. That is, there needed to be at least twice as many Yes votes as No votes, and at least three Yes votes.

The final tally was

70 Yes
0 No
9 Abstain

and so the Bylaws were ratified.

For details see the summary of votes, the complete log of all ballots recorded, and the actual ballots themselves, including comments.

Who could vote?

The Ratification Electorate was composed of those Contributors who created at least five unique nontrivial changesets in the OpenJDK Mercurial repositories in the two years preceding the start of the Ratification Vote. A nontrivial changeset has only one parent (i.e., it's not a merge changeset) and does not just add or remove a tag.

This definition was chosen by the Governing Board because it's based on verifiable, publicly-available data and is likely to admit only serious contributors while not going so far as to limit the electorate to just those who have been contributing from the start. For more information please see the minutes of the relevant Board meeting.

Here is the complete Ratification Electorate:

full name address
Abhijit Saha abhi.saha at
Alan Bateman alan.bateman at
Alex Menkov alex.menkov at
Alex Strange astrange at
Alexander Kouznetsov alexander.kouznetsov at
Alexander Potochkin alexander.potochkin at
Alexey Utkin alexey.utkin at
Andrei Dmitriev andrei.dmitriev at
Andrew Bachmann andrewbachmann at
Andrew Brygin andrew.brygin at
Andrew Haley aph at
Andrew John Hughes ahughes at
Andrey Petrusenko UNKNOWN
Andy Herrick andy.herrick at
Anthony Petrov anthony.petrov at
Anton Tarasov anton.tarasov at
Antonios Printezis tony.printezis at
Artem Ananiev artem.ananiev at
A. Sundararajan sundararajan.athijegannathan at
Bengt Rutisson bengt.rutisson at
Bhavesh Patel bhavesh.x.patel at
Bob Vandette bob.vandette at
Bradford Wetmore bradford.wetmore at
Brian Goetz brian.goetz at
Changpeng Fang UNKNOWN
Chris Hegarty chris.hegarty at
Christian Thalinger christian.thalinger at
Clemens Eisserer linuxhippy at
Coleen Phillimore coleen.phillimore at
Dalibor Topic dalibor.topic at
Daniel D. Daugherty daniel.daugherty at
David Holmes david.holmes at
David Katleman david.katleman at
Denis Fokin denis.fokin at
Denis Lila dlila at
Dmitriy Samersoff dmitry.samersoff at
Dmitry Cherepanov dmitry.cherepanov at
Doug Felt dougfelt at
Doug Lea dl at
Eamonn McManus eamonn.mcmanus at
Erik Trimble erik.trimble at
Frederic Parain frederic.parain at
Gary Benson gbenson at
Greg Lewis glewis at
Hiroshi Yamauchi yamauchi at
Igor Nekrestyanov igor.nekrestyanov at
Igor Veresov igor.veresov at
Jean-Christophe Collet UNKNOWN
Jeff Dinkins jeff.dinkins at
Jennifer Godinez jennifer.godinez at
Jeremy Manson jeremymanson at
Jesse Glick jesse.glick at
Jim Graham james.graham at
Jim Holmlund james.holmlund at
Joe Darcy joe.darcy at
John Coomes john.coomes at
John Cuthbertson john.cuthbertson at
John R Rose john.r.rose at
Jon Masamitsu jon.masamitsu at
Jon VanAlten jvanalte at
Jonathan Gibbons jonathan.gibbons at
Josh Bloch jjb at
Karen Kinnear karen.kinnear at
Karl Helgason kalli at
Keith McGuigan keith.mcguigan at
Kelly O'Hair kelly.ohair at
Kevin Miller kevin_m_miller at
Kevin Walls kevin.walls at
Kumar Srinivasan kumar.x.srinivasan at
Kurt Miller kurt at
Lance Andersen lance.andersen at
Lillian Angel langel at
Lukas Stadler lukas.stadler at
Mahmood Ali mali at
Mandy Chung mandy.chung at
Mario Torre neugens.limasoftware at
Mark Reinhold mark.reinhold at
Martin Buchholz martinrb at
Masayoshi Okutsu masayoshi.okutsu at
Maurizio Cimadamore maurizio.cimadamore at
Max Weijun Wang at
Michael Ernst mernst at
Michael Fang michael.fang at
Michael McMahon michael.x.mcmahon at
Mike Duigou mike.duigou at
Mike Swingler swingler at
Naoto Sato naoto.sato at
Neil Richards neil.richards at
Omair Majid omajid at
Paul Hohensee paul.hohensee at
Pavel Porvatov pavel.porvatov at
Pavel Tisnovsky ptisnovs at
Peter Zhelezniakov peter.zhelezniakov at
Phil Race philip.race at
Poonam Bajaj poonam.bajaj at
Robert Field robert.field at
Roger Hoover rhoover at
Roland Westrelin roland.westrelin at
Roman Kennke roman at
Sean Coffey sean.coffey at
Sean Mullan sean.mullan at
Sergey Malenkov sergey.malenkov at
Staffan Larsen staffan.larsen at
Stefan Karlsson stefan.karlsson at
Steven Loomis steven.loomis at
Stuart Marks stuart.marks at
Sunita Koppar sunita.koppar at
Tim Bell tim.bell at
Tom Rodriguez tom.rodriguez at
Ulf Zibis ulf.zibis at
Valerie Peng valerie.peng at
Vinnie Ryan vincent.x.ryan at
Vladimir Kozlov vladimir.kozlov at
Vladimir Yaroslavskiy vladimir.yaroslavskiy at
Volker Simonis volker.simonis at
Xiaobin Lu UNKNOWN
Xiomara Jayasena xiomara.jayasena at
Xue-Lei Andrew Fan at
Xueming Shen xueming.shen at
Y. Srinivas Ramakrishna y.s.ramakrishna at
Yong Jeffrey Huang UNKNOWN
Yuka Kamiya yuka.kamiya at
Yumin Qi yumin.qi at
Yuri Nesterenko yuri.nesterenko at
Zhengyu Gu at